If Only

If only I had learned some of these things in high school.

Most of the things in my ECMP 355 class are completely new to me. I hadn’t heard of half of the media tools, handy websites, or even opened up my iMovie before this class. I really enjoy seeing everything that the internet and other minds have to offer. I keep thinking over and over, this would have been so helpful in high school!

My computers 20 class, I never took computers 30, consisted of typing memorizing and spewing back website coding information. I don’t remember any of it. We never learned about the many tools available to us and I feel like that’s mostly what a computer class should be. We should be shown how to use a computer as a means of gaining further knowledge about the world surrounding each of us and not as a machine that we can run google. (I am in no way saying that google is not a good tool, I am a big believer in google :P. All I’m saying is that a computer is capable of so much more)

One thing that is important to remember is that the computer is not in control. You have the power to search what you want, click what you want, see what you want. You have the control.

How computer savvy are you? Were you fully informed of the possibilities that you can explore with a computer?

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. celestelalonde
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 16:57:44

    I know exactly how you are feeling! My high school computer classes sound like they were similar to yours. Where I could have benefited the most from the skills I’m learning in ECMP 355 is during my Internship. Many of the tools that we’ve used or have been provided to us as resources would have been such a key component to my teaching. On the positive side…it’s better late than never to learn these new skills!

    Reply

  2. rieldeal77
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 17:00:48

    Great point, If I had known about some of these tools in high school it would have made things much easier!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

