I Don’t Get It!

I have been hearing a lot about the new mathematics curriculum called “Math Makes Sense” and I honestly cannot see why schools would choose to use it. The program started out with good intentions, the curriculum has less chapters, but the chapters are so much more in depth. Rather than relating to even half the class, much like the old textbooks did, they are catering only to the top ten percent of the class. What about the rest of the students?

Math Makes Sense, instead of being based on concrete answers and specific equations, is based on estimating, rounding, and the ability to see patterns. How does this help the students in the long run? What will happen when the students have to pay bills? If the student’s bill is $500.00 and they only have $450.00, they can’t simply say, “Close enough.” That’s not how the real world works, and after all, that’s what we’re trying to prepare the students for. I know that that is a pretty extreme example, but I hope you can see where I’m coming from.

I, actually, had a conversation with a tutor about the new curriculum. They said, “Math Makes Sense is my bread and butter.” She explained to me that Math Makes Sense ends up being the opposite of what it sets itself up to be. It ends up making math more difficult.

This is all, purely, how I see this new curriculum. If i am misunderstanding something or you have a different opinion, or even if you completely agree, please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

