First Things First

Hello everyone! My name is Erin Vallee and I am in my first year, second semester of the University of Regina’s Arts Education Program. I have a major in visual art and I am planning on declaring English as my minor.

I am an only child and have lived with my parents in the same house all my life. Although I had no siblings growing up, I have plenty of cousins to fill the void. Most of the people in my family are very creative. My mom is a painter, with special interest in folk art and my dad is a musician who is especially gifted with guitar. I got hit hard from both sides with the creative gene. I LOVE to paint, draw, and take photos. I also enjoy learning different instruments. At the moment, my aunt is teaching me piano and I am learning guitar through a combination of self teaching and asking my dad questions.

I grew up in a Christian home, and that gave me a love for God and a passion for Children’s ministry. Through my church I have helped with many programs, such as the Junior youth events and Sunday school. I have also helped in these sorts of programs through my former school, Regina Christian school, which educated grades k-12. It was a very close knit group of students. Since I grew up around the same group of people, since elementary, It allowed me to form very long lasting friendships.

I have some experience with computers, but by no means am I an expert. I can use Microsoft Word, I can go to the simple websites, and I can somewhat manoeuvre around photo editing programs, but other than that, I would consider myself to be almost computer illiterate.

I may not have much of a background yet with computers, but I do believe that it is becoming more and more important to have students exposed to the benefits of having experience with technology. Many jobs now, and most likely more so in the future, require experience with technology. It is important as educators, to prepare our students for the real world and technology is a huge part of that. With that said, I really do believe that the art of writing assignments by hand is becoming lost. For instance, if there is a student whose computer fails, they need to know that the option of writing by hand is still there.

Networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, and even Youtube are becoming common ways of communicating among students. With texting thrown into the mix, it seems that the quality of english being used when communicating has dropped dramatically. “LOL. How r u? Im lmst thr” is no where near being a complete sentence. On the other hand, it may help with students’ ability to form their own opinions and be able to defend their ideas, which is a very important life skill.

From my  ECMP 355  class, I would just really like to become better acquainted with the technology that is out there. I am very much looking forward to the classes that are coming up.

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mr WordPress
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 17:18:06

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

  2. Alec Couros
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 22:32:56

    Thanks for your first comment. I look forward to connecting as the course goes on. All the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

